Book Reviews

Neil Armstrong

A gripping tale of overcoming seemingly unsurmountable odds. In QF32, Richard de Crespigny recounts a hair raising story of responsibility and complexity as he brings 469 passengers and crew safely to Earth after encountering one of the most catastrophic in-flight disasters in aviation history.

Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger

Anyone who has flown, or is about to fly should read this remarkable and gripping story of leadership and resilience. I’ve been in the captain’s seat myself when things go catastrophically wrong, and Richard’s description of a well-trained crew acting to save lives gives a unique insight into how experience and judgement can avert a disaster.’   (Sully was the Captain of  US Airways Flight 1549 that ditched in the Hudson River on 15 Jan 2009)

Gene Kranz

QF32 is the most gripping aviation book I have read in years. This is a riveting blow-by-blow account of what happens when things go seriously wrong in the air.  QF 32 is a story of confidence, courage and defiance in the face of unexpected and unprecedented risks and their improvised solutions.

de Crespigny’s cockpit resource management focused the flight crews’ talent, energy and imagination allowing a safe aircraft return similar to that of my team during the Apollo 13.  The teamwork in the cockpit is just like mission control… and their improvised solutions to problems spectacular.  (Gene was the NASA Flight Director and is the author of  “Failure Is Not An Option“)

Eric Moody

A remarkable story of courage, experience and teamwork – with fantastic lessons for every pilot!    My passengers appreciated the significance of preparation, skill, discipline and level-headedness under pressure during my Black Swan event when all four engines suddenly went quiet.   So it was with QF32 – a true Biggles adventure with an autobiography and a captain’s log that immersed me inside that cockpit during their four hour crisis.  (Eric Moody was the Captain of British Airways flight 9 of 24 June 1982, that lost power to all four engines after flying into volcanic ash from the eruption of Mount Galunggung,  Indonesia)

Susan Parson

…  Clearly, the QF32 crew’s performance was a bravura example of the professionalism and airmanship every aviation citizen should aspire to emulate.
(“Flight of a Black Swan – Airmanship (Still) Trumps Automation”  By Susan Parson, Editor, Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) Safety Briefing p32, September/October 2013)

 Geoffrey Thomas

.. the gripping yearn just gets better and better.

.. masterpiece.

“BRILLIANT! Reminds me of the film Apollo 13 – you knew the outcome but you were still sitting on the edge of your seat!”
“If every Australian who was about to take a flight read QF32 then Qantas would be the most profitable and successful airline in the sky!”

 (Geoffrey is the Airlines Editor for Australian Aviation Magazine)

Ben Sandilands

Richard de Crespigny’s book “QF32” is among the most lay friendly and informative insights into air safety standards and their importance ever published. An outstandingly good read.

Catastrophic ‘uncontained’ engine disintegrations are fortunately extremely rare but can end in disaster. “QF32” will help the public understand why training, experience and team work count for everything in a crisis.   (Ben authors the Plane Talking column for Crikey.com)

Carey Edwards

” Their crew performance, communications, leadership, teamwork, workload management, situation awareness, problem solving and decision making resulted in no injuries to the 450 passengers and crew.

QF32 will remain as one of the finest examples of airmanship in the history of aviation.   (Edwards, Carey (2013).  Airmanship (pp. 17-18).  England: Blacker Limited.  ISBN:  978-1-897739-66-2)

Peter Overton

“.. it was extraordinary. It was compelling.”

Richard, I have just read your book and wanted to let you know that I marveled at your leadership, your respect for your team, your care for your passengers and your airmanship. Indeed, I found myself quite emotional as you brought the plane down and then personally honoured your crew at the bar then at a private function. And what a life you have led ..so interesting and fulfilling.

Rick Darby

The author’s description of the calculation of the landing parameters, discussion (and sometimes disagreement) among the flight crew members, contact with air traffic control, announcement to the passengers and further automated warnings makes a gripping suspenseful story. The book fills in details that news reports could not convey at the time, not only of technical issues but about crew resource management.  (“After Shock” Flight Safety Foundation)

André Turcat

JPEG - 9.7 ko“….[Richard] reassured the passengers.   He circled a while and with his crew calculated the landing distance needed taking into account what he was left with.  They needed 3,900m.  The selected runway was 4,000m. They came to stop, 100m short of the end of the runway.  As a wing had been perforated, there was fuel all around the aircraft.

He made the decision, unique to my mind, to not evacuate the passengers. He waited until the fire crews had secured the site.   To me, that flight was the finest example of mastery of the aircraft”.

(André Turcat was a French military test pilot, graduate of the École Polytechnique, and  Chief Test Pilot for the Concorde.  Click here to read the interview)

Eric Auxier

On any level, this is no ordinary book.  It is extraordinary. There is a reason it has won awards and topped Best Seller lists.

In readable, entertaining and layman’s terms, Captain de Crespigny lays out, not only the incredible “Black Swan event” (a crisis so unprecedented as to be completely unpredictable) that happened while he was in command that day aboard Qantas QF32, but how he and his team managed the crisis, both in the cockpit and in the cabin. He also enlightens us on how his life had forged him into a captain capable of meeting such an extraordinary inflight emergency.

On any level, this is no ordinary book. It is extraordinary. There is a reason it has won awards and topped Best Seller lists.

De Crespigny also talks candidly about the emotional toll that the flight and unsolicited fame took on himself and his family. Fortunately for us, he used those same life skills to overcome and master those wounds, and turn them around to his advantage as not only a best-selling author, but a sought-after worldwide speaker.

This is a must read, not only for pilots and flight crews seeking wisdom in managing inflight emergencies, but for anyone seeking inspiration and guidance on how to handle any life or business crises.

Disclosure: As a fellow Airbus Captain and author, I had the good fortune to interview Captain de Crespigny for an aviation magazine, and must say that his personal charm and candor has won me over as a fan.

David Learmount

… the bits about handling the incident itself have got me gripped ……. Do you have the energy for this?   (Flightglobal.com)

Comments from Friends and other Reviewers

@StewartBellF1

I don’t want it to end ()

Inhaling QF32 by @RichardDeCrep right now. Absolutely incredible read – and beautifully written. On p107, and I don’t want it to end

El Bong

“I unconditionally recommend Captain de Crespigny’s QF32 story as an ideal case study to demonstrate how a highly skilled, highly motivated and well led team can overcome what an individual or dysfunctional team would find insurmountable”

QF32  ….. had me enthralled all the way through! Isn’t it reassuring to the travelling public to learn that those faceless … pilots up the front are so extensively trained and motivated?

I’m involved in the facilitation of crew resource management training where aircrew learn how and when they are likely to make an error and how they can function as the most effective team. I can therefore unconditionally recommend using Captain de Crespigny’s QF32 story as an ideal case study to demonstrate how a highly skilled, highly motivated and well led team can overcome what an individual or dysfunctional team would find insurmountable. Exceptional situational awareness, risk management techniques, task prioritisation and an obvious compassion for his fellow man are some of the tools Captain De Crespigny had available to him in those dark and challenging hours at the helm of QF32…and he employed them well.

I particularly enjoyed the importance the author placed on the part played by his cabin crew and their unflappable leader Klaus. Learning how life had prepared the author to handle the QF32 emergency was icing on the cake to me. ..

.. so do yourself a big favour and read ‘QF32’. If you’re a nervous flyer, you might not be quite so nervous in future!  (El Bong review of  August 12, 2012 on Amazon.com)

Russel Bitcon

“.. QF32 taught me new ways to look at my leadership style and it has yielded some good results.”

I have been in the mining industry for 30 years and still learn something new everyday.    Reading QF32 taught me new ways to look at my leadership style and it has yielded some good results.

After reading QF32 it dawned on me that the Mining Industry and Aviation Industry have similar traits, leadership concepts and follow certain processes/procedures to ensure consistent outcomes. Also despite rigorous planning, incidents do take place from time to time that require innovative solutions from a collective team to correct.

Recently I was faced with a complex, high risk situation within a team of 8 men. I knew the solution to the problem and I remembered what you said in your book that despite all the complex systems on a A380, it still has the same basic functions needed to fly as a small Cessna. Without going into detail, we applied a back to basics approach to solve our issue and it worked.

Melanie Bovell

“… anyone afraid of flying NEEDS TO READ THIS!!! …”

As someone who works in the travel industry, it was an eye opening experience to read this. This might sound ridiculous, but anyone afraid of flying NEEDS TO READ THIS!!!

[QF32] explains that even in the most terrifying of circumstances for us mere mortals – there is a a pilot and crew who are cool headed, methodical, and above all fully prepared for all events. {…]. Thanks for such a fabulous read.

Gavin Brent

“… A truly excellent book…Now it’s your turn, enjoy!”

This is an riveting life story of a man called to flying. All his life experiences in his journey culminated on that fateful day when a massive engine failure led to a chain of events that literally crippled the aircraft, he was flying, in the air with 469 souls on board. This is an inspirational story of an amazing leader of exceptional character, who when the “chips where down”, his decisions led to averting potentially one of the world’s worst air disasters. I could not put the book down and am now reading it for a second time ! 🙂 A truly excellent book…Now it’s your turn, enjoy!

Andrew Charlton

.. a compelling story of [teamwork] and grace under pressure

A full account is still to be told.  The training systems, the robustness of the A380, the protocol of the ground staff that they not initiate communications with the aircraft and the work done by the cabin crew all deserve to be better known and in the great tradition of aviation safety, studied and learnt from in a blame free environment.  (The Law Society Journal, February 2013, page 83)

Kandapi Clement

this story motivates, it is a story of greatness, power given to others thru honesty

this story motivates, it is a story of greatness, power given to others thru honesty.  Comment on LinkedIn

Lou Burns

“I, along with probably all Captains that read your book, wonder how I would have dealt with the stress that you endured.”

I flew for 39 years with TWA and retired with just over 15,000 hours in the 74 classic. I loved your book, but could barely stand the stress. At least I could put the book down and have a coffee and come back to it, a luxury you were not given. Great job.

The Melbourne Dad

“a must read book”

… the book has made me even more confident flying, and with Qantas – if anything goes wrong, there are pilots at the front of the plane with so much experience and they train so much for the worst case scenario, people are in really good hands. I think the book is a great advert for Qantas, and should be the #92 reason why people should fly with that airline. The author is full of praise for the A380 too, and it is a truly remarkable plane…

(Click here to read the full review)

Paul Daniel

“truly is one of aviation’s fantastic success stories”

Click here to see Paul’s review of QF32

 Debbie Davidson

“… truly a remarkable story of courage, determination and teamwork …”

With more than 460 passengers and crew aboard the A380 bound for Sydney from Singapore this account of that fateful day in November 2010 when the world’s largest passenger plane managed to land safely with not one injury on board. I have just posted my review on Barnes and Noble it’s available on Nook, if Neil Armstrong and Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger the pilot of US airways flight 1549 rate this book so highly then EVERYBODY needs to read it!!!

Chris De Marco

“… it has such fantastic lessons for any pilot …”

QF32 was one of only a few books that I was not able to put down. QF32 is more than a story, it has such fantastic lessons for any pilot and I will no doubt be reading it over and over to get as much as I can from it. As an ex Air force pilot myself I really identified with Richards early years and drive to get into the Air Force. Richards thought process in such extreme conditions was outstanding, even as an experienced pilot I was in awe the way the crew kept to the basics, Aviate Navigate Communicate Administrate.

Robin Dwyer

A great read and a truly amazing record of superb airmanship and team work.

I thought the “Deja Vu” chapter hugely relevant and your call for men to face up to getting help for PTS instead of continuing on without professional help in what has been aptly termed “quiet desperation”.

 Linda Emery

“… should be a compulsory ‘text’ for media commentators …”

I have just finished reading QF32 – a wonderful read, particularly for a nervous flyer. I have taken a lot away from your account but mainly: unreserved praise for the whole crew, I will not be afraid of flying again and always fly Qantas if I can. QF32 should be a compulsory ‘text’ for media commentators to show them why we should all support our national carrier.

Jason Gillies

QF32 is the best book I’ve ever read on leadership, crisis management and the effects of Post Traumatic Stress.

Jason is the Senior Project Manager Major Projects Unit – Public Transport Authority (review via LinkedIn)

Margot Halbert (PositivePersuasion)

QF32 is a compelling read if you want to understand why leadership and teamwork can combine to deliver amazing results

.. QF32 .. is an enthralling read about how experience, training and teamwork contributed to averting a world air disaster…. De Crespigny is clear .. “Teamwork is everything.” … In my opinion it’s .. a story of remarkable leadership.

Tony Hughes (RSVPselling)

Qantas flight QF32 is a legendary example of airmanship and teamwork.

Excerpt from “What Air Crash Investigation Didn’t Tell You About QF32 (Airbus A380)” by Tony Hughes:

After reading the book QF32 and also after interviewing him for several hours, I formed the view that Captain de Crespigny embodies the following philosophies to which every leader should aspire:

  • Be an unrivalled expert and passionate about what you do. Richard’s intimate knowledge of the A380 helped him manage its systems in a crisis and lead the team with clarity.
  • The job is to provide a great experience for customers [passengers], not fulfill the role technically [fly the plane safely].
  • Avoid complacency and don’t make assumptions. It is the things you do not know that can get you. Be positively paranoid and manage every conceivable risk.
  • Teamwork is everything. Communicate clearly and ensure that everyone knows their role and is empowered to perform it.

[ …..] But this is also an example of amazing customer service illustrating how a single employee […] became the greatest marketing asset that Qantas or Airbus could have wished for.

Click here for the Tony Hughes video explaining and linking QF32 to customer service.

Judy Johnston

“It is an amazing story”

I have literally just finished reading [your] book. I am on a train in Italy on the way down to Sicily and could not wait to say what a wonderful e-book this is. I have been flying with Qantas for 45 years next month as a passenger and have had a few experiences but nothing like QF32. This is a very personal story – yes also of a team – but of extraordinary courage in the face of such adversity…. Richard and his team certainly did Qantas proud. Thanks for sharing this incredible story.

Rory Kay

I think QF32 is one of the most readable and fascinating flight safety related books ever written. It should be recommended for all pilots coming into the commercial multi-crew arena. Actually it should be required reading for anyone remotely interested in Cockpit Resource Management at any level.

Sam Keenan

“for the first time in years, I had a book I couldn’t put down! “

My wife bought me your book QF32 in September, and although I’m a great aviation fan, and keen PPL pilot, I was thinking I’d struggle to get through it, as I don’t generally sit down and commit to a book for more than a few chapters.

BUT, for the first time in years, I had a book I couldn’t put down! I have to say, your story about your life, family, and the events that transpired on QF32, and how you and your team handled them were pretty inspirational.

Since reading your book I have decided to continue studies towards my CPL, and have completed my first CPL dual navex. It will take me a while to finish my NVFR, CPL, Multi IFR and eventually ATPL (not to mention all the hard graft along the way), but reading your book has given me the reminder I needed about the excitement of a career in aviation, and the opportunities it presents. Thanks Richard.

Steve Kent

.. a fascinating insight into how him and his entire crew dealt with such a catastrophic failure. Recommended for everyone with an interest in flying and I defy you not to have a nagging desire to pick it back up every time you put it down!

Kathleen Lucas

“Just finished reading the best book I have ever read, and probably will ever read.  …”

Sean McCartney

“This book is one of the most awe inspiring reads of my life ..”

The USA has Sully Sullenberger but we have Richard de Crespigny.  It’s pilots like him and the crew of QF32 who make us all proud and feel safe each time we fly  …

Well done and thanks for this book Richard – just brilliant! (via Review on Amazon – 26 May 2013)

 QF32 is a great story from a brand perspective.    It is a must read—for everyone in business!

from https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/working-what-you-have-christine-moody

Bruce Nevill

I have held a Private Pilot’s Licence (PPL) since 1975 and own my own small aircraft. I have just finished your fascinating read (could not put it down). Just wish to add my congratulations to you and your team on your achievement.

I was greatly impressed by your management style to get the best out of your team under dire circumstances. From my point of view as a PPL, I gained valuable lessons not the least of which you emphasized in the book. That is “good pilots know their limitations” and as we are taught from day one “aviate, navigate and communicate” the principles do not change even at your level.

Christopher Orlebar

“should be compulsory reading to any one aspiring to be a commercial pilot”

QF32 is utterly gripping. So well do you describe the agonising decisions that had to be made that I had the illusion of being a member of your crew.

I especially liked your description of how previous experiences helped. Your book should be compulsory reading to any one aspiring to be a commercial pilot – just as is Handling the Big Jets. (Christopher is a former Concorde Captain, Chairman Royal Aeronautical Society – Weybridge Branch)

Andrew Pearce

“It’s only when the tide goes out that you see who’s been swimming naked”

“Warren Buffett is fond of saying, “It’s only when the tide goes out that you see who’s been swimming naked”. That it’s only when the long-tail event happens (be it a market failure, an engine failure, or a wayward flock of geese), that we truly appreciate the significance of preparation, skill, discipline, experience and level-headedness under pressure. How cool it is to live in a time when we can so readily share the rich experiences of others, as well. Nice one Richard”

Damian Plumb

A great example of what happens when leaders take charge, trust in their people, training and systems. If you are an aspiring leader (or an aviation buff) I highly recommend you read this book.

Isa Pix

If ever you had a bad day in the air, I could think of no pilot I would rather have at the controls than a Qantas pilot.

Emma Rafferty

A fascinating and gripping story.

Few people encounter situations in their lives where they impact the lives of so many others (468!) in such a deeply profound way, but your story is about exactly that. The way you and your team handled the events of 4 Nov is nothing short of remarkable; and what a ripping read it makes! I was thoroughly enthralled and moved by your story: you have taken the events and turned them into a fantastic narrative, including incredibly detailed stories of other pilots and mentors, and taking your reader on the journey you all went on that day. I cannot even imagine the stress and pressure that you were under, and your response was nothing short of inspirational. As a consequence, I now have a much better understanding of and greater respect for exactly the kind of skill, commitment and hard work it takes to be a professional pilot at your level.

James Saunders

“… the most interesting and well written book I’ve ever read …”

I’ve just finished reading QF32 and I just wanted to say, it is by far the most interesting and well written book I’ve ever read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and the insight Richard showed in writing was superb. It has also reinforced my trust in Qantas, the safest airline in the world, and made me even prouder to be Australian. I hope when I get the opportunity to fly on the A380, Captain Richard Champion De Crespigny is at the helm, although reading this book I trust 100% ANY Qantas pilot.

Louise Sexton

“… put a warning page after chapter 12 ….”

I really enjoyed reading your book but I think you should ask the publisher to put a warning page after chapter 12 to say “do not keep reading unless you have time to read to the end”. I couldn’t put the book down once I started your account of the flight itself. I think I turned my light off at about midnight.”

Michael Sheridan

RICHARD DE CRESPIGNY THE GOLD STANDARD OF FLIGHT

“… QF32 reads like a set text on what to do in a crisis.”

A flying miracle? No, a classic in management studies. ….  It’s a tale of high adventure and ice-cold nerves, of course. But in a fortnight when the fate of Malaysia Airlines flight MH370 has gripped the world — amid muddle and confusion by the authorities in Kuala Lumpur — the narrative of QF32 reads like a set text on what to do in a crisis.

Michael is a journalist with The Times, UK.  (Click here for Michael’s full feature of  23 March 2014)

Gayla Solomon

I loved the strong messages: be passionate, go after your dreams, take risks, but have strong convictions about what you believe and what you know to be true.

 Tony Stephenson

“… mandatory reading for company directors, CEOs, chief risk officers, chief compliance officers, internal auditors and HSE managers ….”

[QF32] should be mandatory reading for company directors, CEOs, chief risk officers, chief compliance officers, internal auditors and HSE managers. Had I the means to send a copy to each of them, I would do it in a heartbeat. (Tony is the founder and director of iComply)

Theo Swarts

Could not put it down once I started reading

Just finished reading QF32. Could not put it down once I started reading. Thank you for a brilliant account of what happened and I especially appreciate the account of the CRM interaction during the entire incident. I have learned a lot out of this first reading and I am certain I will still learn more as I return to reading QF32 again and again. Thank you again for having shared your experience with all of us. Many happy landings.

Tony Stephenson (iComply)

.. [QF32] should be mandatory reading for company directors, CEOs, chief risk officers, chief compliance officers, internal auditors and HSE managers. Had I the means to send a copy to each of them, I would do it in a heartbeat.

“What the governance, risk management and compliance executives at Deutsche Bank, Barclays, HSBC, United Standard and ING can learn from airplane pilots”   (Click here to read Tony’s report on Risk Governance and QF32)

Jason Vallis

“This incident, has cemented the need for me to pursue a good work ethic and mental attitude towards flying which I will hopefully carry on for the rest of my career.”

[…] I was inspired by your advice to strive for excellence, improvement and preparation as a pilot. A few days later I was flying from Cairns to the Torres Strait Islands in an Aero Commander and was compelled to review all of my emergency procedures. Only a few minutes after, I suffered a catastrophic engine failure and diverted 85nm to land at Cooktown aerodrome, single engine, in textbook fashion. I was lucky but I was prepared!

Alexander Vassiliadis

“.. a book, that I “breathed” in within 2 days. Incredible ..”

My heartiest congratulations on your fantastic book, describing one of the most impressive pieces of airmanship ever seen. For me as a flight student, it was a book, that I “breathed” in within 2 days. Incredible!

Frank Van Haste

” … only the attention of highly skilled, highly trained, highly proficient professional aviators stands between the passengers and disaster …”

There are numerous lessons to be taken from the QF32 story. One stands out for me, and it is this: When it all goes pear-shaped, only the attention of highly skilled, highly trained, highly proficient professional aviators stands between the passengers and disaster. Richard de Crespigny and his colleagues proved this.

Click here for Frank’s full review

Dr Peter Volker

“… a great yarn, autobiography, captain’s log, lesson in team management and a Biggles adventure all in one! …”

While I was aware of the incident, I became aware of the book while studying team dynamics in my organisational Behaviour course for an MBA at university. Our lecturer asked us to listen to an ABC Radio National interview with Richard de Crespigny and comment on the team issues.

QF32 is a valuable tool for anyone engaged in team sand even more valuable if you are engaged in managing a crisis. Many of us don’t face the life and death choices that the crew of QF32 faced on the flight deck, but these are valuable lessons to be learnt in incident control. Personally I have been involved in bushfire incident management teams and this books has given me insights that I will take into the next Incident Management Team that I participate in.

Other than the book being a great yarn, an autobiography, a captain’s log, a lesson in team management and dynamics,and a Biggles adventure all rolled into one. Thoroughly recommended. (Dr Peter Volker – President of The Institute of Foresters of Australia)

Brett Vaughan

It really brings home, for me, the need to Aviate, Navigate, Communicate

As someone who purchased and read this book cover-to-cover, I can say it’s a must have for anyone interested in Aviation, whether a Pilot or not. It was, and is, an awesome read. It really brings home, for me, the need to Aviate, Navigate, Communicate. Reading the book, you realise just how close we came to a major disaster, and only through the skill and teamwork of the crew, was this averted.

 Vesna C 

“one of the best accounts of a true story delivered in Australian publishing I’ve encountered over the past few years”

Alex Von Keitz

.. the leader determines the culture? … No!  The leader is the culture!   QF32 is a must read with regards to Leading  (Alex Von Keitz)

Maxime Wauters  Maxime Wauters

I share your visions about aviation and about building your own personal safety culture

Rich, I have enjoyed reading your book. And I am still enjoying it today by re-reading it.

What an amazing source of inspiration for people like me who still believe in the magic of aviation and want to promote a culture of knowledge, of communication, of passion for the job and of safety.

I have the great privilege of flying one of the most modern business jets on the market right now (the Embraer Legacy 450) and sometimes face with human-machine interfaces which trouble my senses and the relationship (i like to use this word) that I have with the aircraft.   I am also responsible for Safety Manager at a growing business jet operator in Belgium.

I share many of your visions about aviation and about building your own personal safety culture.   I can only but recommend my colleagues to read your book and see how one’s personal background, experience and mindset can be a determining factor in managing an incident.  The aviation industry needs people like you to aim for higher standards.

(Maxime is the Safety Manager & First Officer (Legacy 450) at ASL Private Jet Services)

Russell Wilson

“QF32 has been a great help in the “Leadership & Communication …”

… [QF32] was one of the most fascinating and enjoyable books I have ever read. You and your crew did an amazing job.

I’m currently doing a Masters of Aviation Management through Griffith Uni.   QF32 has been a great help in the “Leadership & Communication” subject which I’m just finishing.

Dr Roxanne Wu

“… I feel humbled. …”

I am a surgeon, and our profession is being told how much we need to learn from pilots about how to deal with crises and safety issues. Until I read you book, I must say I was not inclined to agree with this, but now I realise how much the discipline and training, not to mention the individual qualities, go to make up a professional aviator at your level. I feel humbled.

See Also

All Readers Comments

Reviews from the Under 25s (Motivating our youngest generation)

2 comments

  1. Greg Miller · · Reply

    QF32 must go down as the greatest air rescue since the Berlin Airlift.

  2. Damien · · Reply

    Hi Richard,

    I am currently studying an Aviation course (with no background in Aviation) and I just stumbled across this book and I said I would download it on the Kindle due to very favourable reviews on Amazon.

    I didn’t know what to expect and I think it helped that I didn’t know the history of this incident (QF32). I was also slightly worried that some of the terms would be too technical for someone who wasn’t familiar with the working of planes. But Richard seems to have an exceptional way with words and explained every detail/problem in a language we could all understand.

    This is a truly fantastic book and a “must read”. The reader almost felt like they played a key role in the safe landing of this plane.

    Well done Richard, you really are an inspirational gentleman.

    Regards,
    Damien
    Ireland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: